Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.

Theatre Uncut began in 2010 in response to the cuts announced to public spending by the then coalition Government. Our Co-Artistic Director and Founder, Hannah Price, searched for a way for theatre, the medium we love, to respond to the what she saw as an unfair and punishing new development.


In anger, Theatre Uncut was born. 


We asked leading playwrights to respond to the cuts and released the resulting short plays, rights free, for anyone to perform anywhere. In that first year 90 groups performed the pieces alongside us, in our 'mass action period'. In the years since we have worked with playwrights from across the world to respond to political and social issues everywhere. 


Since 2012, and with the arrival of our Co-Artistic Director Emma Callander, Theatre Uncut plays have been performed by over 6,000 people in 25 countries across 4 continents. Performances have happened everywhere from theatres in New York, to community centres in Scotland, schools across England, universites in South Africa, on the streets in Spain, on public buses in Mexico, and village church halls in Wales.


The backbone of Theatre Uncut is its participants. Our plays are there for anyone and everyone. Please contact us for more

information on how to get involved. During the mass action period all released plays are rights free. Outside of this period please contact us for rights arrangement.  Email us at


Emma & Hannah

It is important to mention that none of this would have been possible without the help of Mark Ravenhill, David Greig, Mel Kenyon, Libby Brodie and Sarah Brocklehurst.